Another Dose of Spillane

"A Signet Thriller"...only 75 cents in 1950
"A Signet Thriller"...only 75 cents in 1950

an excerpt from page 63:

I threw my hat on the desk, cleared away some of the fancy junk that littered it and sat on the edge.  “You’re a liar, Perry,” I said.

The fat man’s mouth dropped open and the first chin under it started to tremble.  His pudgy little fingers squeezed the arms of his chair trying to get juice out of it.  He didn’t have much voice left when he said, “How dare you to….in my own home! How dare you…..”

I shook a butt out of the pack and jammed it in the corner of my mouth.  I didn’t have a match so I lit it from his cigar.

Leave a Reply

