Summer Reading: The Red and The Black by Stendhal

The Red and The Black (Everyman edition)Day One: Took the book with me to the beach today. Hubby’s birthday and he wanted to spend it on the beach.  Didn’t do any reading as it turns out.  Drank beer and enjoyed the sun.  Book stayed in beach bag.  I did glance at it with a bit of guilt from time to time.

Later unpacked book from bag (got a bit wrinkly from damp towel) and put it by bedside.

Before chuging my nightly dose of NyQuil, thanks to horrible cold, I read the editor’s note, the author’s note, a portion of the Intro –then decided to not finish it until I read the book since it was giving away plot info.  Then read the first 3 chapters.

I surpassed the poor wanker who owned this book before me and aparently just gave up on the entire novel right then and there, as no other pages were folded in the rest of the book.  And just as we are learning about Sorel being taken on as the M. de Renal’s children’s tutor!  I know I’m intrigued….what was wanker’s problem anyway?

One thought on “Summer Reading: The Red and The Black by Stendhal

Leave a Reply

