some days you get distracted

Oreo

where was I?

Oh yes…I was on the verge of composing a few lines of prose when HUK HUK WAK…the cat is puking on the rug by my feet.

Gross….I think the sound of the yaking and the splat of the vomit is worse than the actual vomit..

I clean it up…

I set back to work….fingers lingering over the keys….where was I?

Oh yes….the protagonist…he was about to say something about counting forks…something threatening…what was it?

The phone rings….it is my uncle…I ignore it…

where was I?

Oh yes….

oh wait…now I’m getting a text message…fuck…the light continues flashing on my phone … I try to ignore it…but it’s nagging me…

I answer it…it is my uncle…he’s left a phone message…now a text….he’s determined…i text him ….but I know he’ll take that as a sign to call me…

He calls…

I answer…

He talks for hours…he talks about how “we” need to get off our ass and start creating…ironically I was working, until he called to accuse us of not working….

Finally….I’m off the phone…but now, after two hours on the phone, I have to pee….on the way back  to the computer, the dryer buzzer goes off…shit..can’t let clothes sit and wrinkle…

I fold them…

On the way back to the computer another cat pukes….I clean it…and I smell pee…need to clean the boxes..clean pee off the air vent where Oreo likes to pee…

By now it is lunch time…might as well eat before I put on my shoes to head to the gym….

I work out….nothing to write home about…not that I find much time for writing between the puking and the calls anyway….

I start to feel defeated…the writing day slipping away again…turning into lost weeks…lost months…lost years…and with it goes my confidence…

By the time I return from the gym it is nearing the time my husband will be home and all writing attempts stop….if I have managed to clear my head from the distractions of the day, the nagging feelings of things brought up in phone conversations or emails, I try for another hour of writing….if not, I turn on the television and watch a movie…

I’ve seen a lot of movies….

this is how the writing week goes ….when I allow myself to get dragged along….

2 thoughts on “some days you get distracted

Leave a Reply

