feeling a bit better about the writing life

I am always relieved when I read things like the following piece from professional writers, especially ones I admire…this bit is lifted from an interview with John Updike posted online..to read the whole interview click here

Lila Azam Zanganeh: How does one write so much? How do you do it?

John Updike: By not doing much else, is the key. I didn’t want to be a teacher, and didn’t think I’d be very good at it or very qualified so I did not choose teaching, either at the college level or even at the high school level. My father was a high school teacher. But I wanted to avoid duplicating his life. So I said I’d rather be a hack professional writer than no writer at all. My approach has been to, you know, treat writing as a sort of profession like dentistry or financial investment and putting in regular hours, not maybe as long as 9 to 5 but say from 9 to 1:30, so even if you write rather slowly you do accumulate a lot of manuscripts by doing it every day.

Leave a Reply

